boygenius – ‘the record’ (2023)

Interscope Records 5506743, Assai Records hand-numbered obi strip limited edition of 500 on indies clear vinyl with gatefold sleeve and printed lyric and image booklet. 184/500.

Favourite song: ‘Not Strong Enough’ / ‘Letter To An Old Poet’.

Read full review of the record here.


I absolutely wouldn’t be acting like myself if I didn’t grab this on vinyl! One of my most anticipated releases of the year since its announcement in January, and it has certainly lived up to the hype.

If you missed my full thoughts on the record yesterday, check them out on The Indiependent at the link above. The indies edition also comes with a beautiful printed lyric booklet with images of the trio during their writing session, which I’ve included images of my favourite pages in the gallery below. Make sure to head over to my Instagram to see all of the images on this page and a video of my favourite moment on ‘the record’, the poignant ‘Me And My Dog’ callback on ‘Letter To An Old Poet’!

Let me know your thoughts on boygenius and ‘the record’ in the comments below, and enjoy!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started