THE INDIEPENDENT: Del Barber – ‘Almanac’ (2023)

One of my favourite things about writing about music is the constant exposure to genres and artists that I probably wouldn’t have listened to through my own sonic explorations. This new album from Juno award-nominated Canadian artist Del Barber is a fantastic example of this – now, I wouldn’t normally call myself a massive fan of country, but Barber’s ‘Almanac’ is an extremely enjoyable record whose songs have been running through my head for weeks!

Released Friday April 28 just past, ‘Almanac’ is a beautifully intimate collection of songs that sees Barber reflect on his rural home life, family, love, grief, and his place in the world. Perfect listening for this cosy Sunday evening – give my thoughts on the record for The Indiependent a read here while wrapping yourself up in Barber’s exquisite storytelling, and enjoy!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started